Church "The Holy Trinity" Gießübel
Church "The Holy Trinity" Gießübel
Possibly the strange sounding place name Gießübel derives from the name of an old place of execution. In the course of the settlement of the Neubrunn and Schleuse grounds, the village of Gießübel also grew.
Thus, the desire among the inhabitants to have their own church gradually awoke and found expression in the beginning of the 18th century in the request to the sovereign. In the years 1722 and 1723 the village church in Gießübel was built in baroque style and consecrated with the name "Zur Heiligen Dreifaltigkeit". It is an interesting building in the shape of an octahedron (octagon) with reinforcements at the corners that stand out like buttresses. On the north and west sides there is a large entrance portal, and on the other sides there are large, light, rectangular windows. Remarkable is the small hourly chime bell from 1745, which has survived the turmoil of times hidden in the ridge turret and became visible in the course of the roof renovation in 2003. The other three bronze bells (1926, 1949, 1950) are not in the church, but in a bell house built above the church. The interior of the church is determined by the basic round shape of the church. The gallery extends completely around all four sides of the church. On the west side stands the organ, an important work of the Hildburghausen organ builder and contemporary of Bach, Johann Christian Dotzauer.
The organ was rebuilt and renewed several times, including in 1841 by the Schmiedefeld master organ builder Michael Schmidt. Worth mentioning are special wooden pipes, now hidden inside the organ, which originally formed part of the prospect. Through beautiful carving and painting they show themselves each with a stylized human face.
Above the church stands since 1950 the small "Martin-Luther-Gemeindehaus", which serves the congregation as a winter church and as a room for various
Events serves.
Details
Germany
Gießübel near Hildburghausen
98667
Neubrunnstrasse