Head office Luge
Head office Luge
A museum of local history & meeting house with permanent exhibition
The original Luge house dates back to around 1651, as documented by a wooden plaque on the south gable. It was built by the large-scale manufacturer Luge.
The former inn
The house, with its "black kitchen", wooden ceiling parlor and first floor cellar, once served as a tavern and, until 1969, repeatedly as a home. At the end of the 1970s, the village youth set up a youth room here, which was used for many parties and celebrations until 1980. It stood empty from 1980 to 2010. The stable building was demolished and the north gable was covered with makeshift Eternitt panels. The half-timbering was dismantled a few years ago with great skill and expertise and sorted for later reinstallation.
Reopening as a local history museum
Since then, a great deal of restoration and renovation work has been carried out on the house. Local historian Barbara Koch reopened the main house as a local history museum. Numerous historical exhibits bear witness to life in times gone by.
There is now a permanent exhibition of various pottery and pictures (wool pictures) from our own production. By prior arrangement, groups of up to 12 visitors can be served coffee and cake in the Stammhaus Luge.
Details
Germany
Blankenhain OT Altdörnfeld
99444
Am Anger 4