Neideck castle ruins
Neideck castle ruins
Unfortunately, the Neideck site is currently closed due to damage to the masonry of the castle tower.
From the middle of the 16th century, the Renaissance moated castle of Neideck was the residence of the Counts of Schwarzburg-Arnstadt. Today, only the Neideck Tower remains, which is 65 meters high and offers a wonderful panoramic view of Arnstadt and the surrounding area. Caspar Bach the Elder, who lived in the castle tower with his family between 1620 and 1633, already appreciated this outstanding view over the town. His duties included blowing the horn on the hour, reporting outbreaks of fire and watching the streets and paths.
Details
Germany
Arnstadt
99310
Castle garden
https://www.arnstadt.de/kultur-und-tourismus/sehenswuerdigkeiten/sehenswuerdigkeiten-in-arnstadt