Templar House Weimar
Templar House Weimar
On the western bank of the Ilm between the Roman House, the park caves and the city palace, Bauhaus master Johannes Itten set up his painting studio in the Tempelherrenhaus in the park, which was converted from an old greenhouse into a "salon in the park" for the court in 1786. The neo-Gothic-style building was destroyed in the bombing raid in February 1945. It was given its name by four life-size wooden statues of templars made by Martin Gottlieb Klauer. They were later replaced by sandstone figures, the remains of which can still be seen today. Goethe had a tower, windows and an ogival entrance gate added in 1816. The Tempelherrenhaus also served as a concert hall; Franz Liszt, among others, played here.
Details
Country:
Germany
City:
Weimar
Zip code:
99423
Street:
Park on the Ilm
Phone:
Email: