Queienfeld
Queienfeld
The district of Queienfeld is located on the south-western slope of the Queienberg, approx. 16 km from Meiningen. The "Bibra" runs along the edge of the village. The village was first mentioned in a document in 1057 under the name "Quiunfelt". Queienfeld probably got its name from the strong springs that emerge at the foot of the Queienberg and have been preserved to this day.
There is historical evidence that a chapel dedicated to the Virgin Mary stood on the summit of the Queienberg, north of Queienfeld, in 1122. The once famous and rich pilgrimage chapel and cemetery was visited for a while after the Reformation and then demolished. A wooden cross still stands as a reminder of its existence. The "Queienberghütte", a popular excursion destination, is located nearby. There is a wonderful view from the top of the Queienberg.
Queienfeld is also known for its feud with the neighboring village in 1558, which was fought over some pear trees standing on the Römhilder Landwehr. This dispute went down in history as the "Queienfeld Pear War".
In May each year, a church service is held in Queienfeld on the forest festival site by the Luther lime tree. The traditional forest festival takes place here at Whitsun. This open-air festival, which is often referred to as a small Woodstock, has been attracting visitors from far beyond the borders of the Grabfeld region since 1952.
In the center of the village is the Churchwhich was built in 1720 next to the old defense tower. Part of the moat is still well preserved and is a popular excursion destination alongside the beautiful half-timbered houses and the three running fountains. There are many beautiful and relaxing hiking trails around Queienfeld.
2007 marked the 950th anniversary of the town's first documented mention. Queienfeld celebrated this anniversary with a big week of festivities.
Queienfeld has 524 inhabitants and a municipal area of 967 ha.
Details
Germany
Grabfeld (municipality) OT Queienfeld
98631