Behringen
Behringen
The first documented mention of Behringen dates back to the years 776 - 815. The Großenbehringen church - also known as the "Martin Luther Church" - was built in 1846. The castle, built in 1547 by Johann Friedrich von Wangenheim in the Renaissance style with a five-sided bay window, is located in the town center. The building, which has since been converted into a castle hotel, primarily offers barrier-free rooms and facilities for visitors. The 250-year-old Weymouth pine tree is the landmark of the adjoining old castle park. The ten-kilometre sculpture trail to Hütscheroda and back starts at the park. It was created in 1996 and features up to 120 different sculptures. Next to the castle park is the start of the 31-kilometre-long Rennstieg trail through the Hainich, which ends in Eigenrieden near Mühlhausen. Today, Behringen is one of 17 villages in the municipality of Hörselberg-Hainich.
Details
Germany
Hörselberg-Hainich OT Behringen
99820