Town church "St. Georg" Schleiz
Town church "St. Georg" Schleiz
First mentioned in a document in 1284, the church was built in the late Gothic period, as can be seen from the pointed arches and buttresses as well as the monopitch roofs. None of this remains today, as two fires turned the church into a ruin. It was rebuilt in 1567. But even after this event, the history of the building is marked by the collapse of the rear vault and several fires. It suffered many disasters. It was partially destroyed in the 1945 bombing raid. The rear vault collapsed, three further fires damaged the tower, roof and nave, vault and roof truss, and the bell cracked. Fortunately, it was rebuilt again and again and Johann Friedrich Böttger was baptized here in 1682.
Today, the town church "St. Georg" is used alternately with the mountain church "St. Marien" for church services and concerts. It offers space for around 500 people. The front rows can be heated with bench heating. Several rows have been equipped with an induction loop for the hearing impaired.
Details
Germany
Schleiz
07907
School square 8