Franciscan monastery Weimar
Franciscan monastery Weimar
The former Franciscan monastery between the Weimar Zeughof and the Wittumspalais is now home to students of the FRANZ LISZT Weimar University of Music. Only the main features of the former monastery complex can still be seen in the ivy-covered house, but the south building is still well preserved. The complex was founded by Duke Wilhelm III in 1453. Martin Luther stopped here on his journey to Augsburg and held mass. In November 1533, the monks were no longer tolerated by the sovereign. The crypt containing the remains of aristocratic families was transferred to the town church of St. Peter and Paul. The building was then used as a municipal granary and grain store.
Details
Country:
Germany
City:
Weimar
Zip code:
99423
Street:
Am Palais 3
Phone:
Email: