Liborius Chapel
Liborius Chapel
One of the most important landmarks in western Thuringia is the Liborius Chapel on the historic Werra Bridge near Creuzburg. The construction of the first bridge chapel was commissioned by Landgrave Ludwig IV in 1223. It was to provide heavenly protection for the bridge and travelers. Finally, in 1498, the construction of the present chapel was initiated by the prioress of Creuzburg's St. Jacob's Monastery, Jutta von Hundelshausen, and the bailiff of Creuzburg, Georg Burggraf von Kirchberg. The chapel dedicated to St. Liborius quickly became a popular place of pilgrimage. In 1520, Kunrad Strebel of Rotenburg decorated the interior of the dome with valuable frescoes depicting the life story of Saint Elizabeth and Jesus Christ, which are being uncovered again today.
On September 1, 1523, the Carthusian monk Albert von Kempten proclaimed the Lutheran doctrine in front of a large crowd, and many Creuzburgers then switched to the Protestant creed.
Over the centuries, the chapel has been renovated and renewed several times. Unfortunately, the Werra bridge and the chapel suffered severe damage when Creuzburg was taken by American troops on April 1, 1945. Although most of the damage was repaired in the following years, the increasing salinity of the Werra and the increase in heavy goods traffic meant that constant repair work was necessary to preserve the chapel. The closure of the border during the inner-German division made the chapel inaccessible until the mid-1970s. Today, the parish of Creuzburg looks after the building.
Details
Germany
Office Creuzburg OT Creuzburg
99831
At the old Werra bridge