Weischwitz

The village was first mentioned in documents in 1381. The name comes from the Slavic language and was long interpreted as "the higher village". Today, it is certain that the...

Continue ReadingWeischwitz

Casting bucket

Experience nature up closeGießübel is located at the transition from the Thuringian Forest to the Thuringian-Franconian Slate Mountains and borders directly on the Rennsteig. The small vacation resort lies in the valley of the Neubrunn, surrounded by steep mountains....

Continue ReadingCasting bucket

Neumannsgrund

Neumannsgrund is a district of Neuhaus am Rennweg .......................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Continue ReadingNeumannsgrund

Wilhelmsdorf

Wilhelmsdorf is a municipality in the Ranis-Ziegenrück administrative community in the Saale-Orla district of Thuringia........................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Continue ReadingWilhelmsdorf

Hanstein castle ruins

The ruins of Hanstein Castle are one of the most famous and interesting castle complexes in central Germany. It was built to its present size in 1308 and took 200 years to complete. From the accessible north tower, you have a magnificent view of the...

Continue ReadingHanstein castle ruins

Limbach

Limbach, today a district of Steinheid of the town Neuhaus am Rennweg, is located directly at the Rennsteig. The village was founded in the middle of the 18th century by the Greiner family. The place name was...

Continue ReadingLimbach

Diedorf

According to the latest research, it could be proven that Diedorf was already mentioned in documents in the year 817 and could thus look back on a 1200-year anniversary in 2017. Diedorf is thus within the rural municipality...

Continue ReadingDiedorf

Sundrema

The small clustered village of Sundremda in the valley basin at the foot of the Linzig and Lohberg mountains is around 1230 years old according to the first documentary mention. It lies at the foothills of the Thuringian Forest and...

Continue ReadingSundrema