Tiefurt Palace - Country estate of Duchess Anna Amalia
Tiefurt Palace - Country estate of Duchess Anna Amalia
Built in 1765 as a tenant's house for a ducal chamber estate, the building served as the residence of Duke Carl August's younger brother from 1776. From 1781 to 1806, it was the summer residence of Duchess Anna Amalia. After the plundering by French troops in 1806 and Anna Amalia's death, Tiefurt fell silent. From 1813 to 1818, it was the seat of the Economic Institute and was restored by Hereditary Grand Duke Carl Friedrich in the 1920s. To mark the 100th anniversary of Anna Amalia's death, Grand Duke Wilhelm Ernst turned it into a museum in 1907. The staircase, dining room, music room and fireplace room reflect the taste of the period around 1800. Tiefurt Palace and its park are part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site "Classical Weimar", which is a unique testimony to the cultural epoch of Weimar Classicism and reflects Weimar's outstanding role as an intellectual center in the late 18th and early 19th centuries.
Details
Germany
Weimar
99425
Main street 14