Tiefurt Palace Park
Tiefurt Palace Park
The 21-hectare palace park is located 4 km east of Weimar city center on the edge of the incorporated village of Tiefurt on both sides of the Ilm. The park sections on the two banks could hardly be more different: gently sloping meadows with beautiful, space-creating groups of trees in front of the former chamber estate building and the steep slope on the eastern bank, densely overgrown with trees, which gives the inner park a graceful setting. The first landscaped sections were laid out in 1776 by the youngest son of Duchess Anna Amalia, Prince Constantin, together with his tutor Karl Ludwig von Knebel and the painter Adam Friedrich Oeser. Under Anna Amalia, the grounds were expanded to their current size. Architectural garden details enrich the appearance of the palace park. Together with Tiefurt Palace, the palace park is part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site "Classical Weimar", which is a unique testimony to the cultural epoch of Weimar Classicism and reflects Weimar's outstanding role as an intellectual center in the late 18th and early 19th centuries.
Details
Germany
Weimar OT Tiefurt
99425
Main street 14