Schwarzbach
Schwarzbach
The village, which was mentioned in documents as early as 1317 together with the Brattendorf manor, was one of the few villages to have a castle and its church was already used as a place of pilgrimage in the 16th century. On January 10, 1721, Schwarzbach was granted tavern and brewing rights by Duke Ernst the Pious.
This was the start of the "Schwarzbach Castle Brewery", which is still known beyond the borders of Hildburghausen today. During the war of 1866 between Austria and Prussia, the Schwarzbach brewery was a supplier to the Bavarian army.
This is why Bavarians and Prussians sat together at the market in Schleusingen and drank beer. This was literary material for the Finnish poet Alexis Kivi, who turned it into the comedy "The Beer Trip to Schleusingen", a piece of Finnish national literature.
Schwarzbach still has a number of historic buildings, such as the "Appelstaler Mühle" (1775), the "Hornmühle" (built in 1666) and the oldest mill in the village, the "Papiermühle" (approx. 16th century).
The go-kart track in Schwarzbach offers unique leisure fun. It is the largest open-air track in southern Thuringia, ideal for speed-lovers in small speedsters. Three clubs organize cultural and sporting life in Schwarzbach: the local heritage association, the fire department association and the soccer club SV Eintracht Oberland. There is also a men's choir, which rounds off the community life in Schwarzbach.
Details
Germany
Auengrund OT Schwarzbach
98673